Home > Existing ACT Users, Tutorials > ACT 2010 Tutorial Training – Customising Toolbars in ACT 2010

ACT 2010 Tutorial Training – Customising Toolbars in ACT 2010

ACT By Sage 2010 Training Tutorials – The most fantastic ACT resource on the web – Step By Step Tutorials, videos, audios, advice and a whole host of value – http://www.act-2010.co.uk

========================================================================== 

I’ve just finished a hugely successful 2 day workshop here in Southampton, UK and it’s quite scary how naive most ACT users are in respect of basic customisation.  ACT is so flexible and yet so few ever go beyond the default settings

 Well today I want to give you a quick insight into how you can modify your toolbars, both using basic techniques and also using slightly more advanced custom commands to link to external files

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mtSlNJirl44

The video is only about 10 minutes long but nonetheless, should give you another indication as to what you can do with ACT to really make it work for you 

Enjoy!

http://www.act-2010.co.uk/

  1. Harvey Dun
    17/07/2010 at 7:04 PM

    Hi Keith

    First of all, sorry for the long message!

    Do you by any chance know of another product that is better, or a free way!! of synchronising (Active ones by means of a look up field) Act contacts with Outlook rather than 123, I’ve looked at Companion Link also but that doesn’t allow me to filter only Active contacts by using look up criteria. I can use the new feature in 2010 for syncing the Calendar. We use exchange and there for my Windows Mobile device it runs on the Outlook exchange, and to get the top 400 contacts onto my ordinary mobile I need to pull the contact data in from Outlook.

    I had ran 123 Sync before but it had created two Direct Phone Fields rather than one (I added these) and there was no way of exporting data from the software to see where the fault, no help from the developers either. I am also conscious that the current version they have doesn’t support MS office 2010, so that will probably be another upgrade cost.

    Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

    Harvey

    • 19/07/2010 at 2:12 PM

      Hi Harvey

      Unfortunately, I’m not familiar with 123 sync so cannot pass to many comments about it, although I have obviously used CompanionLink many times and just to confirm, you’re clearly talking about syncronising your phone/pda rather than a pc/laptop

      Now with Companionlink, there is an option to only sync certain contacts that are within a certain group so you could define a dynamic group that filters on your “active” status and only sync those records?

      I think this is probably the only way of achieving what you want

      In answer to your comments re Office 2010, I can confirm that you are absolutely right. ACT 2010 is not compatible, however ACT 2011 will be OK with the 32 bit version (not 64) and also, one of the new features is contact syncronisation between ACT and Outlook

      Can’t reveal too much more but from what I saw during the beta program, it looks quite good

      Hope this helps and watch this space…

  2. Harvey Dun
    22/07/2010 at 2:07 PM

    Hello Keith

    Thank you for a prompt reply.

    To clarify, I am looking to sync initially Act with Outlook on a PC.
    Then Outlook to my PDA through exchange wirelessly on the go for diary, contacts and e-mail.

    I never really got Act up and running on my PDA as the support from sage was, well pretty non existent.

    I also need to select less contacts for my mobile phone (400 approx) as this hold less than the PDA (have about 2000 active contacts, hence using Outlook also.

    Companion Link looks good then if it can do that. I didn’t see this in the trial version I ran.

    Act 2011 – Looks good although we run W7 64bit, to take advantage of the speed of the PC’s here. I haven’t looked at 2010 yet, but assume we can run a 32 bit version of Office on the 64 bit Operating system? same as we have at present.

    Syncronisation with Outlook for 2011 looks good and sage confirmed to me this was in the pipeline but not sure exactly on all the features yet. Hopefully this will be out in Nov this year, so I might hold on rather than but a 3rd party software, which I may or may not need.

    Thank you for the info, and I found your video very helpful, more of these is excellent. IN fact, Act does a lot what the 3rd party software provide, just people don’t know how to configure Act.

    Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

